Arabella and Bentley – oil on canvas

 
'Arabella' oil on canvas 60x60cm

‘Arabella’ oil on canvas 60x60cm © Neil Condron 2015

'Bentley' oil on canvas 60x60cm

‘Bentley’ oil on canvas 60x60cm © Neil Condron 2015

Two of my recently commissioned portraits landed in Australia today – sister and brother Arabella and Bentley. A pair of ‘free-range kids’ as their lovely mother lovingly describes them.

I always get attached to the people I am painting and miss them when the painting is finished, especially with children’s portraits – the next time you see them they’re all grown up!

…new subject, fresh canvas…off I go…lovin’ it!

About Neil Condron

Nationality: Irish Occupation: Artist & Design consultant Studio: Enniskerry, Co Wicklow As a Designer: I’m an experienced design professional with demonstrated managerial success in evaluating, designing, developing and delivering corporate and product branding projects. I have Thirty-five years experience in the advertising and graphic design industries as a design practitioner and twenty three of those years as owner/manager of one of Ireland’s leading brand design companies Xmi design (formerly Marketing Image) employing, directing and training over 150 staff within that period. Proven creative skills in brand intuition, devising creative strategy, concept generation, design technologies, photographic direction and digital/print management. Proven management skills as managing director of xmi, in leadership, financial management, operations management, new business development, key client management, projects management, process and operational procedures development, needs analysis and training evaluation. Proven interpersonal skills as mentor, minder, motivator and confessor and always letting the client take the credit for a good idea. Proven track record having worked with the best in Irish business over three decades alongside some of our best creative talent - with industry accolades to prove it. As an Artist: My first recollection of my interest in painting was at the age of 10 when I won a prize for designing and painting a Christmas card in school. I loved both the art and the accolade - I was hooked. Regretfully I never made it to art college, instead I deployed my creativity in the commercial design world for over thirty years. Sporadically, as time would allow, I continued to paint and explore various mediums and styles. The great ‘epiphany’ occurred in 2008 when the arse fell out of my commercial world and the realisation that ‘tempus fugit’ is a reality. The need to paint became all-consuming – so I decided, much to the bewilderment of my worried family and the despair of my bank manager, to follow the dream. My philosophy - Life’s an adventure, what happens next is anyones guess, so enjoy the moment – without being a total idiot! View all posts by Neil Condron

One response to “Arabella and Bentley – oil on canvas

Leave a comment